Yoga is a great way to reduce stress and take on your day like a champ. It is perfect for obtaining and maintaining a lean muscular body and balance. However, you may find yourself needing a little more mental exercise to help clear your mind and focus your emotional wellbeing. A great way to do that is through meditation.

Meditation Practices for Yoga Lovers

Chakra Meditation is great for the Yoga enthusiast. Here is a list of 7 great Chakra Meditations.

1.Root Chakra-(Sun Salutation)

Sun Salutation during meditation is perfect for opening up and stretching out your back, strengthening your entire body, and allowing your Root Chakra to re-align and balance. By balancing your Root Chakra, you will feel more inner-strength and a connection to the earth.

2.Sacral Chakra- (Goddess Pose)

The Sacral Chakra is responsible for our creative and fun side. A yoga pose that is great to use while meditating for this Chakra is the Goddess Pose.

This pose opens your hips and pelvis increases the openness of your Saral Chakra, allowing it to flow freely and align.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra- (Reverse Plank Pose)

The Solar Plexus Chakra is in your naval area. It’s the Chakra that connects to our ego, identity, and how we feel about ourselves—doing the Reverse Plank Pose and meditating is excellent for activating your core (internal fire) and promoting increased energy.

4. Heart Chakra – (Locust Pose)

Your heart Chakra is the connection between the love we feel between ourselves and others. To feel compassion, love, and respect, our Heart Chakra has to be in balance.

The Locust pose during meditation is perfect for opening your chest allowing the heart to open up and align. Once your Chakra is aligned, During meditation, the Locust pose, you will feel more loved and able to love others.

5. Throat Chakra (Cat-Cow Pose)

Your Throat Chakra is the core of communication and our ability to speak the truth to ourselves and others.

Using Lion’s Breath with the Cat-Cow pose is a fantastic form of meditation to align your throat chakra. Doing this is going to stimulate and open your vocal cords and, therefore, your throat chakra. 

6. Third Eye Chakra – (Dolphin Pose)

Our Third Eye Chakra is our “all-knowing” Chakra, helping us deal with internal conflict, guides us on our future path, and self-perception.

During meditation, the Dolphin pose helps activate and re-align the Third Eye Chakra by promoting increased circulation to your head and brain, which then activates and aligns your third eye.

7. Crown Chakra – (Half Lotus)

The Crown Chakra is responsible for your ability to trust and find inspiration.  With this Chakra out of balance, you will find yourself uncertain about the world and yourself. 

The Half Lotus pose while meditating is perfect for aligning the Crown Chakra; the pose requires balance throughout the body will help align the Crown Chakra. 


Meditation is a great way to help clear your mind and focus on your body and mental/emotional health. Combining meditation and yoga can be a great way to get the benefits each provides to making one feel complete.